Actuarial Study Scheme – Part 1

The exam curriculum for admission to the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries is regularly updated to reflect the changing role of the actuarial profession in the modern workplace. The last phase of updates to the qualification scheme started in September 2017, and are now in full effect.  In this article, we briefly outline the current exam system. At the moment the Actuarial Profession has the following qualifications:

  • Fellowship (FIA/ FFA)
  • Chartered Enterprise Risk Analyst (CERA)
  • Associate Actuary (AIA or AFA)
  • Certified Actuarial Analyst (CAA)

The vast majority of individuals entering this profession wish to attain the full Actuarial Fellowship.  Whilst the qualification process is updated the principles are still the same. Individuals wishing to attain the Fellowship must still complete a combination of exams, personal and professional development as well as completing three years professional actuarial experience. In summary the current exam system categories are as follows:

Continue to Part 2